Getting Around the Quota

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Gargoyle87

Getting Around the Quota

Post by Gargoyle87 »

I have been using Gargoyle for several months, and every thing was working fine, until one of the users start getting around the quota by cloning other users MAC address. :(

There are 6 users currently sharing the internet connection (3 laptops, and 3 desktops), I assigned a static IP address for each computer, and I blocked MAC addresses assigned a static IP that connect from a different IP.

I also, restricted all the MAC addresses from connecting to the internet, excepting the 6 MAC addresses of the 6 users.

Then I added a quota for each of the 6 static IP addresses.

The problem that I am facing now, is that one of the users is scanning the local network (using a software), so he knows the MAC addresses of other users, and when his quota is consumed, he start cloning the MAC addresses (using a software) of other users and start consuming their quota. :cry:

When I asked the other users to change their MAC addresses (using a software), the annoying user scans the network again.... and that never ends. :x

So is their a way to prevent (using Gargoyle) the users from scanning or pinging the network (preventing them from knowing connected IP and MAC addresses). :roll:

Note: If preventing them from doing that requires blocking the local network, it will not be a problem (nobody here is playing multilayer games or sharing files with other users).

heuristic

Re: Getting Around the Quota

Post by heuristic »

Gargoyle87 wrote: So is their a way to prevent (using Gargoyle) the users from scanning or pinging the network (preventing them from knowing connected IP and MAC addresses). :roll: