Page 1 of 1

WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:54 am
by insidious1
Hi
im new here, just wanted to know a few things

im considering getting a WNDR3700 and throwing gargoyle on it i have a few questions;

1 - does gargoyle support both v1 and v2 of the WNDR3700?
2 - does gargoyle support NAT loopback?
3 - is there a step by step guide on installing gargoyle?
4 - does DMZ actually work? (ive had stock netgears that wouldn't forward all ports, just a select few)
5 - which is the best stable release for the WNDR3700?
6 - Should i update the stock netgear firmware before putting gargoyle?

thanks!

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:15 am
by pbix
1 - Yes

2 - Not out of the box but with some effort on your part yes. Gargoyle is based on OpenWRT (Backfire). I saw in trunk https://dev.openwrt.org/browser/trunk/package/firewall/files/reflection.hotplug?rev=22441 so it seems this feature is there in trunk and would need to be added manually by you on your router. But I will say that I have never seen a request for this feature. I suspect there is a simpler and better way to accomplish your goal. Post about that.

3 - We have our Wiki.

4 - Gargoyle does have DMZ and I have never heard complaints that it does not work.

5 - This is a matter of opinion. All releases have some issues. IMHO you should use v1.5.4

6 - No

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:10 am
by insidious1
pbix wrote:1 - Yes

2 - Not out of the box but with some effort on your part yes. Gargoyle is based on OpenWRT (Backfire). I saw in trunk https://dev.openwrt.org/browser/trunk/package/firewall/files/reflection.hotplug?rev=22441 so it seems this feature is there in trunk and would need to be added manually by you on your router. But I will say that I have never seen a request for this feature. I suspect there is a simpler and better way to accomplish your goal. Post about that.

3 - We have our Wiki.

4 - Gargoyle does have DMZ and I have never heard complaints that it does not work.

5 - This is a matter of opinion. All releases have some issues. IMHO you should use v1.5.4

6 - No


Thanks for your reply pbix! i will post about NAT loopback :)

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:12 pm
by kinu
Hi all,

I have same router. By now I'm using DD-WRT, but I like to try Gargoyle because some bugs in last DD-WRT release.

I'm tunneling all my remote connections using the SSHd option under "services" menu, setting on "SSH TCP Forwarding", disabling "Password login", and putting my putty-generated key in "Authorized keys".

Is this easy to do with Gargoyle?

Thank you in advance.

kInU

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Tue May 01, 2012 6:26 am
by jorgemiguel4
Yes, it's really easy to setup with gargoyle.. I use it the same way too.

It's exactly the same thing but with Dropbear instead of SSHd

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Tue May 01, 2012 5:17 pm
by kinu
Thank you.

Is there a GUI for it, like the one in DD-WRT? If not, are you so kind to point me to the doc/tutorial to get it working?

EDIT: I've found this in the open-wrt wiki. Is it the right procedure?

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:20 am
by Ysdadsdslo
Thank you for theĀ informativeĀ posts.
dubli

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Posted: Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:02 am
by lash444
I had a lot of issues with gargoyle > 1.4.7 until i made sure to set the transmit strength to 23dbm.

Wireless would just stop working intermittently until i did so. Now with that setting I have been running 1.6.1 (i believe), and my WNDR3700 v1 has been rock solid stable. Never have to reboot the thing.