What's the best router for Gargoyle. lol.

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

coastalcruiser

What's the best router for Gargoyle. lol.

Post by coastalcruiser »

Sorry for the newbie question but I have been running Gargoyle for many years and still have this question. After bricking a router the first time installing Gargoyle I just started buying routers from the store here with Gargoyle pre-installed. I have bought many over the years (just ask Eric). The last router we bought from the store was a GL-AR150. It worked great, but when I went to purchase another one the store no longer was listing ANY routers for sale.

I just ran into the Achilles Heal of the GL-AR150. It only has a 100Mb port! Whaaaat?? We just got Starlink, and thus need 1000Mb connections throughout the network.

So it's time for an upgrade. Can anyone recommend a router that will easily install Gargoyle an handle 20-30 users on a 100Mb/s plus internet connection?

ispyisail

Re: What's the best router for Gargoyle. lol.

Post by ispyisail »

x86 might be your route?

Not fully supported though :(

pythonic

Post by pythonic »

Are you prepared to try experimental builds?

If so and you aren't trying to do anything too fancy, I've been happily running a GL-B1300 with the build available here but I only have 45Mbps internet - the device should handle 250+Mbps though from what I've read.