Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
joelm335
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:19 am

Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by joelm335 »

I have a Netgear WNDR 3700 V4 with Gargoyle 1.8 installed. It has worked perfectly for 3 years in a rental property but has developed a fault. It goes through power up routine. All correct lights com on, it will connect with the modem and briefly (10 secs) with the internet. Then all lights on front flash yellow, go out, and it goes through the power up routine again. I have tried connecting to PC with an ethernet cable and got as far as entering password but no further.

Any suggestions? If it is a hardware fault, I will just replace it as have had good service.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4884
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by ispyisail »

You can try a "openwrt Failsafe reset"

or

"serial cable" to try and see whats going on

but I suspect it might be time for a new router?

fifonik
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:52 am
Location: Brisbane, AU

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by fifonik »

I'd try different PSU

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5773
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by Lantis »

It's likely a time warp bug. viewtopic.php?f=12&t=10912
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

joelm335
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:19 am

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by joelm335 »

Thanks everyone. Sounds like it could be the Time Warp Bug.

I already tried the router with the WAN disconnected and it still continuously reboots itself. Not enough time to log into the GUI interface. We have guests staying. When they leave I will try to start in failsafe mode.

joelm335
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:19 am

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by joelm335 »

Got into the GUI and deleted all data in Bandwidth. It’s stable with WAN disconnected. It seems like it’s stable when I plug the WAN cable back in but as soon as I connect to it by Wifi and connect to the internet, it quickly reboots itself.

Edit: will stay connected for most internet browsing. Running Speedsmart speed test crashes it when it starts to test upload speed. ????

Ideas? Or is it time for a new router.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4884
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by ispyisail »

gargoyle factory reset first

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1071
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Post by tapper »

Hi you can do a reset by flashing a updated build and unticking the box to save your configs (settings).
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot

Post Reply