Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

joelm335
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:19 am

Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby joelm335 » Tue Jun 25, 2019 2:16 pm

I have a Netgear WNDR 3700 V4 with Gargoyle 1.8 installed. It has worked perfectly for 3 years in a rental property but has developed a fault. It goes through power up routine. All correct lights com on, it will connect with the modem and briefly (10 secs) with the internet. Then all lights on front flash yellow, go out, and it goes through the power up routine again. I have tried connecting to PC with an ethernet cable and got as far as entering password but no further.

Any suggestions? If it is a hardware fault, I will just replace it as have had good service.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby ispyisail » Tue Jun 25, 2019 3:59 pm

You can try a "openwrt Failsafe reset"

or

"serial cable" to try and see whats going on

but I suspect it might be time for a new router?

fifonik
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:52 am
Location: Brisbane, AU

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby fifonik » Tue Jun 25, 2019 4:38 pm

I'd try different PSU

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5313
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby Lantis » Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:16 pm

It's likely a time warp bug. viewtopic.php?f=12&t=10912
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

joelm335
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:19 am

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby joelm335 » Wed Jun 26, 2019 5:41 am

Thanks everyone. Sounds like it could be the Time Warp Bug.

I already tried the router with the WAN disconnected and it still continuously reboots itself. Not enough time to log into the GUI interface. We have guests staying. When they leave I will try to start in failsafe mode.

joelm335
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 5:19 am

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby joelm335 » Sun Jun 30, 2019 7:43 am

Got into the GUI and deleted all data in Bandwidth. It’s stable with WAN disconnected. It seems like it’s stable when I plug the WAN cable back in but as soon as I connect to it by Wifi and connect to the internet, it quickly reboots itself.

Edit: will stay connected for most internet browsing. Running Speedsmart speed test crashes it when it starts to test upload speed. ????

Ideas? Or is it time for a new router.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4721
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby ispyisail » Sun Jun 30, 2019 4:09 pm

gargoyle factory reset first

tapper
Moderator
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:49 pm
Location: Stoke-on-trent UK

Re: Netgear 3700 Router, Hardware/software problem?

Postby tapper » Mon Jul 01, 2019 4:10 am

Hi you can do a reset by flashing a updated build and unticking the box to save your configs (settings).
Linksys WRT1900AC V2 Gargoyle 1.11
Linksys WRT3200ACM OpenWrt Snapshot


Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests