Port forwording - DHCP Wireless

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
imbaSD
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:25 am

Port forwording - DHCP Wireless

Post by imbaSD »

Hello,

i am trying to open ports for my XBOX ONE http://support.xbox.com/en-US/xbox-one/ ... -xbox-live but the question is if i will be able to do that at my setup.

I have a Modem/Router from my ISP (ZTE H108NS) at living room and Gargoyle router at my room.
I am connected with Gargoyle wirelessly to ISP's router
I already open some ports at Gargoyle but dont know what configurations i need to do at my ISP's modem/router
Last edited by imbaSD on Wed May 10, 2017 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 @1.12

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5724
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Port forwording - DHCP Wireless

Post by Lantis »

Either place Gargoyle in a DMZ at the modem or forward the same ports to Gargoyle.
Sometimes you don't have to do this at all.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

imbaSD
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:25 am

Re: Port forwording - DHCP Wireless

Post by imbaSD »

Thank you for replay,
start messing with this beacause of the Network status of my XBOX (NAT Type: Moderate).
A month ago when i connect directly my XBOX to ISP's modem/router the status was OPEN and now chasing that :P


EDIT:
Open DMZ at my ISP's router to Gargoyle and at Gargoyle open DMZ to my XBOX ONE.
Now Network Status say NAT Type: Open :D

Just read at the Internet about DMZ and understand that its risky to open DMZ (hope with this configuration its safe for the rest of devices). Will try to disable any DMZ to see if the network status will change or not.

Thank you btw
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 @1.12

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5724
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Port forwording - DHCP Wireless

Post by Lantis »

I think if you just use the DMZ at the modem to gargoyle, and then your regular port forwarding from gargoyle to XBOX, you may not get "open" NAT, but games will work and you'll be secure.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

imbaSD
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:25 am

Re: Port forwording - DHCP Wireless

Post by imbaSD »

Lantis wrote:I think if you just use the DMZ at the modem to gargoyle, and then your regular port forwarding from gargoyle to XBOX, you may not get "open" NAT, but games will work and you'll be secure.


Did it right now and achieve exactly what i want.
NAT status is OPEN :)
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 @1.12

Post Reply