Temperature Setting

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
donner
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2021 3:42 pm

Temperature Setting

Post by donner »

I have installed Gargoyle and noticed the default system temperatures are in Celsius. Is it possible to have those values displayed in Fahrenheit? Unless I've overlooked it, I haven't noticed where that could be defined.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6735
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Temperature Setting

Post by Lantis »

It isn't configurable sorry. The temperature probes report in millicelcius, and Celcius is the standard unit for everyday temperature ranges (Kelvin being the SI unit).
You can patch it yourself by modifying /www/js/overview.js and/or /usr/lib/gargoyle/tempinfo.sh
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

donner
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2021 3:42 pm

Re: Temperature Setting

Post by donner »

@Lantis - thanks for the info on the files. I looked at them and thought I could edit the overview.js temp array items but I boogered it up and had to undo my edit. I can comfortably say I know just enough to be dangerous....

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6735
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Temperature Setting

Post by Lantis »

https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... iew.js#L64
Just before line 64, I'd do the following.

Code: Select all

temps[1] = (temps[1] * 9 / 5) + 32;
Repeat for temps 2 and 3.
Formula is from my memory but sounds right.

Need to change C to F on these lines too
https://github.com/ericpaulbishop/gargo ... ew.sh#L112
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

donner
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2021 3:42 pm

Re: Temperature Setting

Post by donner »

@Lantis - thanks for providing the specific file locations. My initial modifications were in the wrong locations. That did the trick. Greatly appreciated!

Post Reply