Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

orionis
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:07 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby orionis » Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:29 am

Hello, I'm on TL-WR1043N/ND v2 with gargoyle ver. 1.8.1.
My max ISP speed is 200Mbit/sec and using speedtest.net only get about 120Mbit/sec. But when I reset the router or save changes of any kind, ONLY in the first test of speedtest I reach about 190Mbit/sec, then remains the same. I don't have enable QoS or cuotes.
I can not find explanation to this. I think it is a serious problem and I'm considering leaving gargoyle.
Thanks and sorry for my poor english.


This is my first post on this forum, even if I've used Gargoyle for years, now I have few bits I want/need to share, as I'm seeing this pop up every so often here and not only here...

I've own Archer C5 v1.20 for few good months and before had retired D-Link DIR-825 B1 for few years, where my previous ISP (Virgin Media) could deliver 200/10 Mbps cable connection into my home. Now, I've moved to different location and had to change ISP to Sky's ADSL/VDSL line with 39/9 Mbps max.

1. People keep winging about ISP slower speeds due to OpenWRT/Gargoyle/DD-WRT software being installed on the router. Now, ask yourself this BIG question: Why I installed Gargoyle on my router (eliminating my warranty at the same time)??

Was it because:
a) I can? Yes, I know I can... and what's the point? Do I have to prove myself that I can do what other can as well? "Mum!! I just flashed our home router!!! Really son??? What's ROUTER?? I never knew, we had one..."
b) I don't like OEM's user interface... Learn to live with it, you don't need to look at it so often, as long as it works and you get what you need...and I repeat: NEED not WANT.
c) I want/need option(s) not available in the OEM software... Here is what you should think when you want to change into Gargoyle/OpenWRT... I need options like OpenVPN, Dynamic DNS, more control on what's going in or out, WiFi Timer (YES!) etc, etc. THIS is why I changed my router's firmware...

The bad side? Even those 200 Mbps was only "up to" usual BS and "up to" first server, everything after that it was hit and miss. Someone will say, what about torrents and multi link from different servers... Bla, bla, bla... Soon after my ISP sniffed out torrent, it throttle connection down to near 10%... Also, If you want to use torrents then you will use with VPN to be safer... and here is another problem: no OpenVPN on OEM routers...

Unfortunately, AES calculations are quite CPU intensive and on my 720MHz Qualcomm/Atheros Archer C5, it only reached 12Mbps max on the speedtest.net, so why I bother? I did, because I can use VPN & torrents via my i5 PC, so speed wasn't the issue. Unless you want to encrypt whole household, but then YOU WILL NEED x86 CPU ANYWAY. At the moment there is no hardware (for reasonable price) based on domestic routers with hardware AES. So, there is other problem...:

2) Software vs hardware NAT... This is main problem, why you have slower "speedtests". Linux don't use HW NAT, it is done via software stack. OEMs usually use hard coded hacks to make it works with their software. Now, ask yourself another question: how much I value my privacy? Enough, to warranty use of VPN? If so, will I trust TP-Link and their HW NAT, where NO ONE KNOWS apart of themselves, what is going on there? Can you be 100% sure that no one can punch trough you HW NAT/Firewall as they please? Think about it for 5 seconds, before making complain.

I've found no difference between Sky and Virgin using same tools, whether OEM or not, 200Mbps or 39Mbps, only time I found one was when I start using VPN. My torrents start to download at 10MB/s on some bits where before it was 1 or 2 MB/s.

If you are concern about your "speedtests", you have choice of:

A) stay with your OEM firmware,
B) use Gargoyle/OpenWRT/DD-WRT with sense that you may lose some, but you will gain more...
C) get yourself low powered x86 like AMD Athlon 5350 or Intel Atom with HW AES-NI, this will have enough horse power to run VPN for whole network, software NAT will not run out of puff and it only takes 20W or just about there...

You cannot have everything for free... It's like my friend's saying: Power, Price, Reliability... You can have only two.

I do apologize for this monologue, but... people do have a choice and as far as I can see, they think that this "give" them rights to complain... What if, there was no Gargoyle/OpenWRT or DD-WRT and ONLY OEM?? It would be... take it or F... off!

...and to how much difference will you see between 120 Mbps and 200 Mbps? Seriously... I'm wondering, because for "normal" usage I cannot differentiate between my old 200 Mbps and the 39 Mbps I have now. Web pages opening at the same speeds (unless my eyes slowing down from 0.01 sec to 0.1 s), I can download torrent with 8-10 MB/s anyway... And I do know that, no bloody moron with Kali will crack my WPS "security" pin or get into USB device... among other things ;-)

The only thing is missing from my Archer C5 is lack of AC speeds (not that I have ANY ac device anyway ;-)) and transmitting powers for WiFi (my ends on 23 dBm for 2.4 GHz and 17 dBm for 5 GHz), where on 5GHz
channels above 64 are missing (I am talking about band B 100,104 etc, I do have 164...) where it's permited to have 1000mW and not 100mW like the channels of band A (36...64). Anyway, this is probably due to set up time and localisation of UK, but still even in UK band B should be available. Still to be determined why.

Regards
TP-Link Archer C5 v1.2, Gargoyle v 1.9.0 - main router
D-Link DIR-825 B1, Gargoyle v1.7.2 - backup (not in use)

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5052
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby Lantis » Sun Mar 20, 2016 3:38 pm

Interesting view points.

You should pm me regarding your wifi channels.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

Indigo
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 1:00 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby Indigo » Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:44 pm

gave it another try with browser cache cleared, still the same, no configuration possible...
tried other browsers too (chrome, ie, edge, cellphone browser) all the same ;(
no upgrade to 1.9 for me...

orionis
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:07 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby orionis » Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:05 pm

Interesting view points.



I'm just happy that we have ANY choice and as someone who support few free projects, I think that sometimes someone need to show others, that NOTHING is really free...


You should pm me regarding your wifi channels.


    Frequencies:
    * 5180 MHz [36] (17.0 dBm)
    * 5200 MHz [40] (17.0 dBm)
    * 5220 MHz [44] (17.0 dBm)
    * 5240 MHz [48] (17.0 dBm)
    * 5260 MHz [52] (23.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
    DFS state: usable (for 60906 sec)
    DFS CAC time: 60000 ms
    * 5280 MHz [56] (23.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
    DFS state: usable (for 60906 sec)
    DFS CAC time: 60000 ms
    * 5300 MHz [60] (23.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
    DFS state: usable (for 60906 sec)
    DFS CAC time: 60000 ms
    * 5320 MHz [64] (23.0 dBm) (no IR, radar detection)
    DFS state: usable (for 60906 sec)
    DFS CAC time: 60000 ms
    * 5500 MHz [100] (disabled)
    * 5520 MHz [104] (disabled)
    * 5540 MHz [108] (disabled)
    * 5560 MHz [112] (disabled)
    * 5580 MHz [116] (disabled)
    * 5600 MHz [120] (disabled)
    * 5620 MHz [124] (disabled)
    * 5640 MHz [128] (disabled)
    * 5660 MHz [132] (disabled)
    * 5680 MHz [136] (disabled)
    * 5700 MHz [140] (disabled)
    * 5745 MHz [149] (30.0 dBm)
    * 5765 MHz [153] (30.0 dBm)
    * 5785 MHz [157] (30.0 dBm)
    * 5805 MHz [161] (30.0 dBm)
    * 5825 MHz [165] (30.0 dBm)

I think this is to do with FCC regulations, but I don't understand why in UK band B( 100-140) is "disabled", when it shouldn't be...

Also, 30 dBm is 1000mW (1W) of power, but it should be on band B (free) as well as band C (need licence to use)... It's all the way around here...
TP-Link Archer C5 v1.2, Gargoyle v 1.9.0 - main router
D-Link DIR-825 B1, Gargoyle v1.7.2 - backup (not in use)

afour
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 1:52 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby afour » Sun Mar 27, 2016 2:19 am

I'm from China. My English is not good.
Gargoyle in my wr941n v6 8M FLASH-ar9344+9381-1.8.1-.1.9.0 have a lot of problems.There are a lot of BUG .
1.Radio relay mode can not be scanned,Cannot scan wireless network
2.This is a 2.4g-450M router.not 5g.
3.Wireless channel bandwidth default 20M and no change options
4.Not compatible.
Thank you for the good firmware. I have a wr941nv2 1.8.1no bug.1.9.0 have bug.
I want to buy your products, but it is very difficult.
My English is very difficult, I come from the other side of the earth.
Last edited by afour on Thu Mar 31, 2016 9:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.

runner75
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:00 pm
Location: Venezuela

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby runner75 » Mon Mar 28, 2016 12:46 pm

Version 1.9.0 stable? Release data? Thanks
My Net WD750

rt_rex
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:39 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby rt_rex » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:21 am

I would like to make a special request.
It's it possible add another router to the supported ones?
My request is to add the Meraki MR12 they are allready supported by Openwrt.
Thanks
WIFI Link @ 76 km

http://youtu.be/rrXanzlro78

danymarc
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 5:51 pm

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby danymarc » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:38 am

rt_rex wrote:I would like to make a special request.
It's it possible add another router to the supported ones?
My request is to add the Meraki MR12 they are allready supported by Openwrt.
Thanks

Wrong section ask with proper format here viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7861

rt_rex
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:39 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby rt_rex » Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:15 pm

danymarc wrote:
rt_rex wrote:I would like to make a special request.
It's it possible add another router to the supported ones?
My request is to add the Meraki MR12 they are allready supported by Openwrt.
Thanks

Wrong section ask with proper format here viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7861


Did the request.
Thanks didn't know about that section.
WIFI Link @ 76 km

http://youtu.be/rrXanzlro78

larcy
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2013 2:43 am

Re: Versions 1.9.0 & 1.8.1

Postby larcy » Fri Apr 08, 2016 2:25 am

Gargoyle 1.9.0 flashed to WR941ND v3.8. No problems, seems very stable and working fine


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests