Page 6 of 8

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 5:55 am
by Lantis
are you upgrading to 1.7.2 from another version?

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 1:41 am
by Naevus
Lantis wrote:
Naevus wrote:I reset the settings and try again. All the same - web service is not available.
I reset the settings again, and manually configure the router, make a backup and compare two files.
The backup of 1.7.1 have file \etc\config\httpd_gargoyle
The backup of 1.7.2 instead it have file etc\config\uhttpd

I think that's the problem.


It IS the problem.

It is recommended that you do not attempt to preserve settings
I am NOT preserve settings! I make backup and restore it after upgrading.
My backup file have different network: 192.168.0.0 instead 192.168.1.0. And, as I think, http daemon have not propper config after restore settings.
I think it's important to know for those who have a network different from default.

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 2:34 am
by Lantis
I agree that it is important for people to know. Which is why i told you in the bit that you didn't quote from my original post.

I would recommend that users upgrading from 1.7.1 to 1.7.2 do so without preserving settings. This is due to the change in web servers.
Manually backing up settings and applying them 1 at a time leaving out httpd_gargolye should work ok.


All the same, i have edited the original post to cover your situation also.

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 11:19 am
by Naevus
Lantis wrote: i told you in the bit that you didn't quote from my original post.
Oh, sorry! This is my inattention! (and language barrier). Now I see clear. Thanks.

In general, the firmware works fine! I am very happy. Thank you very much!

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:19 pm
by nworbnhoj
doug wrote:One thing I would love is a tutorial on understanding & setting up QOS

Some of the Common Scenarios use QOS
http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/dok ... _scenarios

But the QOS doco is worth a read to properly understand and get it working for your situation:
http://www.gargoyle-router.com/wiki/doku.php?id=qos

Have a crack at configuring QOS and ask a question on the forum if you get stuck

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 4:22 pm
by nworbnhoj
olivier2 wrote:what can we do to get the latest Tor into the plugin repository?...... I'd be glad to help if there is anything I can do.

I am also keen to help get a current version of Tor running on Gargoyle. However, bandwidth constraints prevent me developing for the moment. (hopefully soon to be resolved)

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2015 9:46 pm
by smyr
Finally TOR is back online and working. I can now also sucessfully change root dir for TOR and the plugins. THANKS!!! This update seems to fix many bugs coz now it feels like the older more stable relase. Everything is working as it should... for example I never got TOR to work with the other versions... even though I changed root etc it simply refused to install.

Also the usb thing is abit dumb / confusing.... for example if i take out the usb quickly and copy something Gargoyle should then recognize it again as its root device if a reboot is made.

Now I am sticking the usb in and never remove it. But a 64 gb would be nice as a cache right... or will that confuse linux.. lol :!:

You have the best and most GUI friendly firmware of them all!!! I just wish openwrt.org (with Luci) would be the same... like where is the usb format control window in Luci? Not even installed by default,, shame on u,

I wish someone could make a Openwrt with Gargoyle GUI!

Cheers
marc

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:30 am
by mates
I have WNDR 3700v2

it is ok to reflash this 1.7.2 with 1.6.x version which worked better for me?

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 6:39 am
by Lantis
mates wrote:I have WNDR 3700v2

it is ok to reflash this 1.7.2 with 1.6.x version which worked better for me?


Yes. Do NOT preserve settings and it should go smoothly.

Re: Version 1.7.2

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2015 2:25 pm
by uysiquebien
So yes, the web service broke for me also after updating. I know you say I must not preserve settings, but that is madness, I spent hours configuring the device, and I'm not going to just start over.

What can I do to fix the web service? I am missing some configuration file or something? "logread" does not say anything about the web service.

Thanks.