Page 14 of 21

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:13 pm
by alencarazevedo
I scheduled my router to reset everyday at 3AM to prevent wireless dropping issues. It reduced the frequency but some minutes ago it occured again. But there's no anything related in logread or dmesg. Below the last entries on logread before the wireless have dropped:

Code: Select all

Jun 18 12:00:22 Gargoyle daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:22:fa:44:20:96 WPA: group key handshake completed (RSN)
Jun 18 12:05:18 Gargoyle daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[2265]: DHCPDISCOVER(br-lan) 00:e0:91:df:55:ed
Jun 18 12:05:18 Gargoyle daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[2265]: DHCPOFFER(br-lan) 10.0.0.215 00:e0:91:df:55:ed
Jun 18 12:05:19 Gargoyle daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[2265]: DHCPREQUEST(br-lan) 10.0.0.215 00:e0:91:df:55:ed
Jun 18 12:05:19 Gargoyle daemon.info dnsmasq-dhcp[2265]: DHCPACK(br-lan) 10.0.0.215 00:e0:91:df:55:ed
Jun 18 12:10:22 Gargoyle daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:22:fa:44:20:96 WPA: group key handshake completed (RSN)
Jun 18 12:20:22 Gargoyle daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:22:fa:44:20:96 WPA: group key handshake completed (RSN)
Jun 18 12:28:56 Gargoyle daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:22:fa:44:20:96 IEEE 802.11: disassociated due to inactivity
Jun 18 12:28:57 Gargoyle daemon.info hostapd: wlan0: STA 00:22:fa:44:20:96 IEEE 802.11: deauthenticated due to inactivity (timer DEAUTH/REMOVE)

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 4:17 pm
by demoralized
Same thing is happening to me to. Scheduled reboot doesn't cure the problem, at least not for 1.10 HW.

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 7:17 pm
by DoesItMatter
It looks like only TP-Link routers (especially later hardware versions)
are having all the wireless issues / dropouts / freezing

I can't tell if it's only people with TP-Link reporting issues or if there
is some underlying OpenWRT issue with TP-Link routers

I've been running 1.5.10 on my WZR-HP-G300NH V1 router
and I've been running it 24/7, streaming youtube videos

It's configured as a wireless bridge with LAN wired clients (no repeater)

I've streamed about 20GB and I have seen no wireless dropouts,
no wireless slowdowns, router is stable and performs perfectly

It's wirelessly connected to my Asus RT-N16 and getting awesome
Wireless-N rates (typically anywhere from 216 - 270 mbps) reported

Zero issues with 1.5.10 on my WZR-HP-G300NH

Anyone else using 1.5.10 NOT on a TP-Link and having any issues?

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:28 am
by maguvu
Zero issues on both routers.

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:05 pm
by NGowner
Here's another datapoint for you Eric. I updated my three TP Link routers to 1.5.10 a few days ago.

My 1043ND updated no problem. This is my main router. Wireless access is MAC Address limited to only the other two routers in my house.

My 841ND v7 configured as a non-repeating bridge updated no problem.

My 841ND v5 configured as a repeating bridge would not update. It worked as a bridge, but I could not get it to be a repeater. My solution was to roll that one back to 1.5.8 (I never did the .9 update, so I went back to what I knew worked). It works fine as a repeating bridge with 1.5.8.

I do not know if the v7 would have worked as a repeater, I did not try.

[NG]Owner

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:10 pm
by cosmins
I have no issues with wireless dropping on my tp-link 1043nd v 1.10. I'm using wifi scheduler, witch i find very usefull to shutdown wireless at night and when i'm on the work.
Everyting running smooth except openvpn :(

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:56 pm
by demoralized
cosmins wrote:I have no issues with wireless dropping on my tp-link 1043nd v 1.10. I'm using wifi scheduler, witch i find very usefull to shutdown wireless at night and whwn i'm on the work.
Everyting running smooth except openvpn :(


Good for you. Im currently having UPnP/NAT-PMP disabled. Trying to see if UPnP was the cause of my problems.

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 1:00 am
by demoralized
When i thought i solved the problem with wireless i had a surprise today. Router kicked all the users including me and i couldn't connect on it. Is was still broadcasting SSID. Hard reset solved the problem. :cry:

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 6:28 am
by cosmins
You may try change the channel an lower the transmit power. I'm currently using channel 9 and 18 dBm transmit power.

Re: Version 1.5.10

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:52 am
by sp_archer
lceron80 wrote:i have discovered an issue in copying files in samba. the error is no such file or directory. check out my video file below...


http://ubuntuone.com/1NVQECxxIquPcrHyR2GDBL


https://www.google.com.ua/search?q=samba+file+name+restrictions

Your problem is colon (:) in the file name.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Filename