Page 11 of 20

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:22 pm
by yc3948
I use No-ip.com and 1043ND too, I tested it just 5 minutes ago with 1.5.9 I didn't find this problem! Do we still need make the change?

FireVortex wrote:I'm using Gargoyle 1.5.9 and No-IP.org updating suddenly stop working.

So, I changed this config (on /etc/ddns_providers.conf) based on http://www.noip.com/integrate/request:

Code: Select all

service no-ip.com
    url_template    https://dynupdate.no-ip.com/ducupdate.php?username=[[USERNAME]]&pass=[[PASSWORD]]&h[]=[[DOMAIN]]&ip=[[IP]]
    required_variables    domain username password
    required_variable_names    Domain Name,Username,Password
    success_regexp    /:01/


to this config:

Code: Select all

service no-ip.com
   url_template         https://[[USERNAME]]:[[PASSWORD]]@dynupdate.no-ip.com/nic/update?hostname=[[DOMAIN]]&myip=[[IP]]
   required_variables      domain username password
   required_variable_names      Domain Name,Username,Password
   success_regexp         /^(good|nochg)/


and works like a charm.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 4:24 pm
by yc3948
Did you test this problem? Why I can't find on my 1043ND with 1.5.9? I use no-ip too.

Eric wrote:FireVortex: Thanks for bringing this to my attention, and for providing a working fix. I love when bug reports include a solution! I've updated the No-IP code as suggested and it will be included in the next release.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 10:25 pm
by mtr
yc3948 wrote:I use No-ip.com and 1043ND too, I tested it just 5 minutes ago with 1.5.9 I didn't find this problem! Do we still need make the change?


I've tried with several No-IP domains with same results: no updating at all.

The No-IP.com site says:
Our protocol is in an open format used by other service providers. The open protocol has been altered by adding a few additional parameters to enhance the No-IP experience. Moving to an open format well help system integrators deploy the No-IP service in their products without having to manage different update methods. If a system already uses the open protocol a simple change of the server name is all that is needed.


Site algo warns:
When making an update it is important that your http request include an HTTP User-Agent to help No-IP identify different clients that access the system. Clients that do not supply a User-Agent risk being blocked from the system.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:40 am
by maguvu
Eric, I want to thank you for your professionalism and consistently good work.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:17 am
by Mr.nsingh2
Mr.nsingh2 wrote:Hello,

This is my first time posting. I have been using Gargoyle for little over 6 months. I have found Gargoyle to be an amazing solution. It gave second life to my router. Thanks Eric and everyone involved.

I Successfully installed 1.5.9 on TP-Link TL-MR3220.v1. Themes look great, especially the "Green" one.

Having one issue: When using "force clients to use router DNS servers", the clients are still using the router Local ip as DNS instead of ISP's DNS servers. How do I get the router to shell out DNS server IP's of my choice to the clients in this 1.5.9. release?

All help will be appreciated.

Regards,

N.Singh


PS: Had to revert back to 1.5.8 due to problems with 1.5.9 my internet stop working after few hours. I think it is a DNS problem with the router. 1.5.8. is working stable so far.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:34 pm
by yc3948
Do you know when No-IP make this change? And it only affect free hosts(No-IP Free) or affect all hosts? Because my hosts( No-IP Plus) working fine until now. Thanks
FireVortex wrote:
yc3948 wrote:I use No-ip.com and 1043ND too, I tested it just 5 minutes ago with 1.5.9 I didn't find this problem! Do we still need make the change?


I've tried with several No-IP domains with same results: no updating at all.

The No-IP.com site says:
Our protocol is in an open format used by other service providers. The open protocol has been altered by adding a few additional parameters to enhance the No-IP experience. Moving to an open format well help system integrators deploy the No-IP service in their products without having to manage different update methods. If a system already uses the open protocol a simple change of the server name is all that is needed.


Site algo warns:
When making an update it is important that your http request include an HTTP User-Agent to help No-IP identify different clients that access the system. Clients that do not supply a User-Agent risk being blocked from the system.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:42 pm
by yc3948
try opne dns as 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 from google ;)
Mr.nsingh2 wrote:
Mr.nsingh2 wrote:Hello,

This is my first time posting. I have been using Gargoyle for little over 6 months. I have found Gargoyle to be an amazing solution. It gave second life to my router. Thanks Eric and everyone involved.

I Successfully installed 1.5.9 on TP-Link TL-MR3220.v1. Themes look great, especially the "Green" one.

Having one issue: When using "force clients to use router DNS servers", the clients are still using the router Local ip as DNS instead of ISP's DNS servers. How do I get the router to shell out DNS server IP's of my choice to the clients in this 1.5.9. release?

All help will be appreciated.

Regards,

N.Singh


PS: Had to revert back to 1.5.8 due to problems with 1.5.9 my internet stop working after few hours. I think it is a DNS problem with the router. 1.5.8. is working stable so far.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:06 pm
by ispyisail

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:05 am
by yousaf465
I can't see System/plugins menu :( Using 1.5.9 Tp-link 741ND.

Edit: Slved by resetting to default configration.

Re: Version 1.5.9 - Plugins Interface

Posted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 10:37 am
by mtr
yc3948 wrote:Do you know when No-IP make this change? And it only affect free hosts(No-IP Free) or affect all hosts? Because my hosts( No-IP Plus) working fine until now. Thanks


Sorry, I've no idea. Plus, I only have a Free Account :( (created few years ago) and I don't/can't test it with a Plus Account.