Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

demetris
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:12 am

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby demetris » Tue Jun 28, 2011 8:52 am

Eric, what do you mean:
"Max transmit power is now determined dynamically for mac80211 wireless interfaces, and may be dependent on channel selected"

1.What max transmit power has every channel and how we found out about it?
2.Also what is this new entry in 40mhz?
Second channel above, second channel below, am confused.
3.What wireless channel i must choose from the 1-11?

Thanks

Cezary
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby Cezary » Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:19 am

1. iw phy0 info
2. in 40MHz width is used primary channel (selected in gui) and second, below or above primary channel. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IEEE_802.11n-2009

demetris
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 3:12 am

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby demetris » Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:38 am

Let me know if i got it:
40mhz is the primary channel and second above >40mhz below <40mhz.
Is that right?
So below will give me 20mhz also for compatibility?

Cezary
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby Cezary » Tue Jun 28, 2011 11:05 am

No. In 20MHz there is only one channel, in ex. 6. In 40MHz two - primary 6 and secondary 2 (HT40-, below) or 10 (HT40+, above).

punkinduster
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:49 am
Location: USA

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby punkinduster » Wed Jun 29, 2011 12:03 pm

I am new to Gargoyle but noticed when I tried the latest version at the time, 1.3.16, using a Dual band Netgear 3700 v1 router that the 5Ghz portion could be set to channel 157 using 20Mhz band width but if I select 40Mhz + or - the range selections above channel 100 were missing. I manually enter 157 in the /etc/config/wireless file and it seems to work just fine. Is this a bug in the gui or something I am not understanding? Also this may be a nit but the gui only allows for one password for encrypting the wireless 2.4 and 5Ghz. Again editing the /etc/config/wireless file allows for distinct passwords.
Last edited by punkinduster on Wed Jun 29, 2011 6:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cezary
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby Cezary » Wed Jun 29, 2011 3:43 pm

In US channel 149/157 is allowed, not in EU. It is depend on regulatority domain.

Eric: for HT40+ we should add 149 and 157 channel.

Also: for iw reg set PL:

root@Gargoyle:~$ iw phy1 info | grep MHz

Code: Select all

         * 5180 MHz [36] (17.0 dBm)
         * 5200 MHz [40] (17.0 dBm)
         * 5220 MHz [44] (17.0 dBm)
         * 5240 MHz [48] (17.0 dBm)
         * 5260 MHz [52] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5280 MHz [56] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5300 MHz [60] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5320 MHz [64] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5500 MHz [100] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5520 MHz [104] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5540 MHz [108] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5560 MHz [112] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5580 MHz [116] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5600 MHz [120] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5620 MHz [124] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5640 MHz [128] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5660 MHz [132] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5680 MHz [136] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5700 MHz [140] (20.0 dBm) (radar detection)
         * 5745 MHz [149] (disabled)
         * 5765 MHz [153] (disabled)
         * 5785 MHz [157] (disabled)
         * 5805 MHz [161] (disabled)
         * 5825 MHz [165] (disabled)

We also should exclude channel with "radar detection" - it is impossible to set channel 48 or 56 for HT40+

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1437
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby Eric » Thu Jun 30, 2011 12:26 pm

I added 149/157 to HT40+ and 153/161 to HT40-

If those channels are disabled (e.g. like they should be in EU) they won't show up, but if they are allowed (e.g. in the US) they should now show up.

behappy
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:06 pm

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby behappy » Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:13 pm

Why not use the fixed Wireless Regulatory according from wiki download here

Cezary
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby Cezary » Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:39 pm

Because not all live in fixed area :) in EU channel 149 and above is not allowed, but we have 12 nad 13 channel...

Gingernut
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 9:51 am

Re: Version 1.3.16 -- Second Release Candidate

Postby Gingernut » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:39 pm

How does Garoyle set your wireless regulatority domain by default?

It's not possible to change it in the web ui, only over ssh right?


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest