Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

The latest news about Gargoyle

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4850
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby Lantis » Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:38 am

No, your data has become corrupted. Or at least, that's typically what has occurred.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

ghorvath
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 12:03 pm

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby ghorvath » Fri Mar 15, 2019 7:34 pm

Thanks for this version! I successfully updated 1.11.X RC5 on a Youku YK1.

There is a new issue with the wireless (don't remember having it for RC5, didn't test for that, though). If I copy some big files through wireless from one local machine to another local machine, then after some undeterministic time (usually seconds, could be hours) two things happen: wireless breaks (machines connecting via wireless will keep the wireless connection, but won't see any other local machine, not even the router) and the router is not distributing the internet to any of the local machines, anymore (no matter if they connected via cable or wireless). Those machines that are connected to the router by cable can see each other and the router, so I can use one to login into the router and reboot it, which usually solves the issue until the next wireless bulk transfer. Sometimes multiple reboots are needed.

Did anyone experience a similar issue? Should I give some more specifics about my router/setup to help debugging this issue? If yes, then what?

Thanks!

User avatar
RomanHK
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby RomanHK » Fri Mar 15, 2019 8:27 pm

Lantis wrote:
lesbinary wrote:"About" page shows "2008-2016" instead of "2008-2019"

Thanks, this is fixed in the code for future versions

I've found one historical site yet, can you fix it?
https://www.gargoyle-router.com/about.php

Thank you in advance.
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.11.x
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.11.x
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4850
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby Lantis » Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:05 pm

No I can’t
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

snake218
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:59 pm

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby snake218 » Fri Mar 15, 2019 10:21 pm

Reinstalled clean version of v1.11.0 and still getting "broken" intermittent wifi connection after a couple of hours. Getting the same problem with RC5. Had to revert to 1.10.0. Archer C7 v2.

User avatar
RomanHK
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby RomanHK » Sat Mar 16, 2019 7:45 am

snake218 wrote:Reinstalled clean version of v1.11.0 and still getting "broken" intermittent wifi connection after a couple of hours. Getting the same problem with RC5. Had to revert to 1.10.0. Archer C7 v2.

Can you better describe how it behaves? is it just a problem in WiFi or even LAN? You may have the same problem as me:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=11829&start=110#p51805
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.11.x
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.11.x
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4540
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby ispyisail » Sat Mar 16, 2019 3:45 pm

snake218 wrote:Reinstalled clean version of v1.11.0 and still getting "broken" intermittent wifi connection after a couple of hours. Getting the same problem with RC5. Had to revert to 1.10.0. Archer C7 v2.


Did you "preserve settings" or use a "back up file" on upgrade?

User avatar
RomanHK
Posts: 263
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby RomanHK » Sat Mar 16, 2019 4:21 pm

ispyisail wrote:
snake218 wrote:Reinstalled clean version of v1.11.0 and still getting "broken" intermittent wifi connection after a couple of hours. Getting the same problem with RC5. Had to revert to 1.10.0. Archer C7 v2.


Did you "preserve settings" or use a "back up file" on upgrade?

+1

it also occurred to me. Before, he wrote that he had no problems.
1. Either used a backup file?
2. or only having a problem with WiFi?
3. or exceed 4096 connections?
They must specify the problem more closely.
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.11.x
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.11.x
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

Renegade18
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 3:07 am

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby Renegade18 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 7:29 am

ispyisail wrote:
Renegade18 wrote:Sorry but now i see ... TL-WR941ND is not supported on 1.11.0 ?


correct, 4MB routers are too small now, 8MB are getting suspect also........


No any chance for version 1.11.0 on TL-WR941ND (small version with basic options) ?

snake218
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 6:59 pm

Re: Version 1.11.0 : Based on OpenWrt 18.06

Postby snake218 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:06 pm

RomanHK wrote:
ispyisail wrote:
snake218 wrote:Reinstalled clean version of v1.11.0 and still getting "broken" intermittent wifi connection after a couple of hours. Getting the same problem with RC5. Had to revert to 1.10.0. Archer C7 v2.


Did you "preserve settings" or use a "back up file" on upgrade?

+1

it also occurred to me. Before, he wrote that he had no problems.
1. Either used a backup file?
2. or only having a problem with WiFi?
3. or exceed 4096 connections?
They must specify the problem more closely.


1. Didn't preserve settings, no backup used.
2. Wifi signal is ok, but connection to the internet drops
3. Didn't touch that setting

my problem could be memory related? I recently upgrade my internet connection from 10mb to 30mb, a lot of clients connect simultaneously to my network(around 15-20 max 30 clients). The problem is not with the wifi signal, but the connection. Downgrade to 1.10.0 and experience same issue once. The only solution is reboot the router. The problem maybe related to 30mb connection like i said before. Any advice? Do i change connection limits setting?


Return to “News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest