Adblock Plugin

Want to share your OpenWrt / Gargoyle knowledge? Implemented a new feature? Let us know here.

Moderator: Moderators

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

The issue is that my plugin is 4kb in size. But it downloads almost 350kb addition to that.
It doesn't look like you can specify a custom size restriction but I could just pack a default block list with the plugin.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

nworbnhoj
Posts: 916
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by nworbnhoj »

Lantis wrote:The issue is that my plugin is 4kb in size. But it downloads almost 350kb addition to that.
Could you convert each url in the blacklist to a cksum to save some space? (doesn't fix the plugin size issue)
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

StopSpazzing
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by StopSpazzing »

Install it, Activate it, then modify the etc/blocklist adding your own to it, you could easily save space.

scrmtrey
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 2:25 am

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by scrmtrey »

Does this plugin work on CC build of ispysail build ?
wdr3600 v1.5 @ Latest ispyisail build

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

yes, version 1.0.4
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

StopSpazzing
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by StopSpazzing »

I am working on code for this to add to blacklist and whitelist. Currently have code needed for logic of the blacklist and whitelist frontend. Have yet to play with the logic for converting those lists into a file which may be easier than it sounds. Let me know if you want me to post the code here for now. Still needs to be converted to proper haserl format. :)

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

StopSpazzing wrote:I am working on code for this to add to blacklist and whitelist. Currently have code needed for logic of the blacklist and whitelist frontend. Have yet to play with the logic for converting those lists into a file which may be easier than it sounds. Let me know if you want me to post the code here for now. Still needs to be converted to proper haserl format. :)

Any head starts you can give me will be greatly appreciated.
You can submit them here
https://github.com/lantis1008/gargoyle-plugin-adblock

I had a few ideas in my head which you can find under "Issues" as ToDo lol.

Cheers
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

StopSpazzing
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by StopSpazzing »

3 things frontend side out of the todo list here:
https://jsfiddle.net/StopSpazzing/4kd8aeq5/

Next is saving the list the to the files and reading from them.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 6753
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by Lantis »

Looks good.

Remember, while it may be necessary to read the block.list in, it is never necessary to re-write it. The plugin itself handles this.

We just need to be able to move items from block.hosts -> white.list
Add/remove items to black.list.

I'd also like all 3 lists scrollable.

That's my thoughts so far. If you have other thoughts please continue to share them. Cheers
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

StopSpazzing
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: Adblock Plugin

Post by StopSpazzing »

Fixed!
https://jsfiddle.net/StopSpazzing/4kd8aeq5/

Have the blocks list using a temp array of strings for the example. Some people (like me) need to whitelist certain sites, like Hulu, because you have to wait 2minutes to continue watching your show during commercial instead of short 30 seconds. Therefore being able to delete and add to white list is also a necessity.

Post Reply