gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Want to share your OpenWrt / Gargoyle knowledge? Implemented a new feature? Let us know here.

Moderator: Moderators

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4700
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby ispyisail » Sat May 09, 2015 5:56 pm

USE AT YOU OWN RISK


gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent
https://goo.gl/HfyaEH

Supported Routers
https://goo.gl/sy3Xht

https://github.com/ispyisail/gargoyle

Requested a Pull from Eric

Add DDNS provider "cloudns.net" (nworbnhoj)

Bump OpenWRT 45620

Add APN 3g providers for New Zealand

nworbnhoj
Posts: 914
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:08 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby nworbnhoj » Sat May 09, 2015 9:26 pm

I tried this build unsuccessfully on my TL-WDR3600 with identical symptoms to previous reports: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=6878#p28000

However I dug a little deeper this time.

It seems that when I click on the Gargoyle - Connection - Basic - Internet/WAN - Connect via: drop-down box then an error is thrown in FF:

Code: Select all

ReferenceError: hasQMI is not defined


The html in Gargoyle 1.6.2 basic.sh shows the remnants of this problem:

Code: Select all

<select class='rightcolumn' id='wan_protocol' onchange='setGlobalVisibility()'>
            <option value='dhcp_wired'>DHCP (Wired)</option>
            <option value='pppoe_wired'>PPPoE (Wired)</option>
            <option value='static_wired'>Static IP (Wired)</option>
            <option value='dhcp_wireless'>DHCP (Wireless)</option>
            <option value='static_wireless'>Static IP (Wireless)</option>
            <option value='3g'>3G (GSM)</option>
            <option value='qmi'>LTE (QMI)</option>
            <option value='none'>Disabled</option>
         </select>


The QMI option is missing in 1.7.X basic.sh

At a guess Qualcomm support has been removed from the GUI but not purged from the "backend" logic.

hope this helps!
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5169
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby Lantis » Sat May 09, 2015 11:23 pm

Good bug report. Thanks for that. I'll do some testing and either remove it or fix it unless Eric beats me to it haha.

EDIT: i've created an issue topic. i *think* i know how it would be fixed but i don't have a device to test with so i couldn't be sure it worked.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4700
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby ispyisail » Sun May 10, 2015 3:38 am

I've got a spare router to do some tests with?

Or do you just want to wait for Eric?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5169
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby Lantis » Sun May 10, 2015 4:03 am

i think wait for eric. i'm just confused about where to declare this variable. if i was being lazy (which, i am :P) i would just declare it as a global but i think Eric is a more refined human than me haha.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 1439
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby Eric » Sun May 10, 2015 12:46 pm

I think I see the problem -- the reason I couldn't replicate the error initially may be that it's a QMI modem, and there was an error where if it was a QMI device the hasQMI variable wasn't being set at all, but if it was not there it was properly getting set to false. Fix should be committted.

The support for QMI modems was in large part a contribution (I don't have one personally to test), so that's the main reason why this error has persisted until someone pointed out what was going on.

RomanHK
Posts: 461
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 4:18 pm
Location: Czech Republik

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby RomanHK » Mon May 11, 2015 2:36 pm

Hello,
small problem, a) only when the system upgrade file /etc/banner does not change and b) is not included in the backup file. When restoring from a backup file, the file /etc/banner does not change. If I may suggest a change of touch /etc/banner to touch /etc/crontabs/root (this file is included in the backup file).

Roman
Turris Omnia with Gargoyle 1.12.0
Linksys WRT3200ACM with Gargoyle 1.12.0
TL-WR1043ND v2 with Gargoyle 1.10.0

tanemann
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:43 am

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby tanemann » Thu May 14, 2015 7:10 am

Hi,

The fix in revision 495f7253 doesn't seem to be enough to get QMI modems working properly, so I did some digging around and found some more issues.

After applying the changes in rev 495f7253, I have hasQMI = true on the Basic Connections page. But when trying to save changes I get a new error: "qmiInterface" is not defined. Its value seems to be defined in /usr/lib/gargoyle/cache_basic_vars.sh and there's a bug there on line 119:

Code: Select all

for devname in devnames ; do

should be

Code: Select all

for devname in $devnames ; do


I'm not actually at all familiar with Bash scripts so it is possible that the $ sign isn't actually required, but running the code without it always returns qmiInterface="" and with it it returns qmiInterface="wwan0".

I don't really know how qmiInterface qmiInterface="wwan0" should end up in /tmp/cached_basic_vars, but if I add it there, the Basic Connection page saves properly without any errors. Finally my LTE connection seems to be working nicely:
Image


However, there's another issue regarding QMI on the Basic Connections page: the Scan button doesn't work at all. The page POSTs to /utility/scan_qmidevices.sh and that file seems to be completely missing, so a 301 redirect to the login page is returned. When testing I just circumvented this by manually entering the device /dev/cdc-wdm0.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5169
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby Lantis » Thu May 14, 2015 8:00 am

another excellent and detailed bug report. suggest you make an issue on the git repository.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

tanemann
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 5:43 am

Re: gargoyle-ispy 2015-May-10 01:11.torrent

Postby tanemann » Thu May 14, 2015 10:12 am

Thanks for pointing that out! I made a new issue http://www.gargoyle-router.com/gargoyle/issues/101.


Return to “Show / Tell / Contribute”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest