Page 2 of 3

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 4:13 pm
by ispyisail
papaskitch wrote:Anyone have any luck with the Archer C7 and dual band? I don't see any GUI option for two bands, or more importantly, wireless AC.


screen shots please

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2015 6:22 pm
by pmerrill
kingnick wrote:Successfully flashed a TL-WDR4300 v1.0 from Gargoyle-ispy 2014-December-25 to Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02 without preserving settings.

As per usual used failsafe+firstboot after flash.

No issue this far, I didn't have any wireless issues with Gargoyle-ispy 2014-December-25 so hopefully Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02 is as good.

Thanks for the build.


I'm curious, I have the same router. What's the wireless performance like versus the previous 1.6.2 version of gargoyle? I'd probably do an upgrade but only if the range or wireless throughput improved.

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:05 pm
by papaskitch
ispyisail wrote:
papaskitch wrote:Anyone have any luck with the Archer C7 and dual band? I don't see any GUI option for two bands, or more importantly, wireless AC.


screen shots please


Wish I had thought of that sooner. Unfortunately flashed DD-WRT and have everything working well at the moment. Wife/kids will hate me if I break it tonight. I'll try with the latest build next weekend if possible and will post the screenshots. Having said that, my setup screen only shows the one band. It's as if the 5Ghz radio isn't there. Only one field for SSID and channel (only 1-11).

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2015 9:41 am
by papaskitch
ispyisail wrote:
papaskitch wrote:Anyone have any luck with the Archer C7 and dual band? I don't see any GUI option for two bands, or more importantly, wireless AC.


screen shots please


I didn't have a chance to try again, but jmc730 beat me to it:

viewtopic.php?f=14&t=6582#p26692

Has this been fixed in a later build? Do you need any other screenshots?

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 4:42 pm
by papaskitch
ispyisail wrote:
papaskitch wrote:Anyone have any luck with the Archer C7 and dual band? I don't see any GUI option for two bands, or more importantly, wireless AC.


screen shots please


Finally got around to installing it again:

1.7.X (Built 20150109-0720 git@da35789)

Image

Will/can this be fixed? Does this need kmod-ath10k installed? I've tried via opkg without any luck (or clue really).

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 5:56 pm
by ispyisail
or more importantly, wireless AC.


there is no AC for gargoyle

when openwrt gets it we should follow

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wdr7500

For the Archer C7 v1.x and WDR7500 v2.x, the 5GHz 802.11a/n/ac functionality is not supported, and likely will never be, since support for the AR1A (v1) variant of QCA9880 chip is not included in the open source ath10k driver. The Archer C7 v2.x uses the BR4A (v2) variant which is supported in ath10k ath10k Linux

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:03 pm
by papaskitch
ispyisail wrote:
or more importantly, wireless AC.


there is no AC for gargoyle

when openwrt gets it we should follow

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wdr7500

For the Archer C7 v1.x and WDR7500 v2.x, the 5GHz 802.11a/n/ac functionality is not supported, and likely will never be, since support for the AR1A (v1) variant of QCA9880 chip is not included in the open source ath10k driver. The Archer C7 v2.x uses the BR4A (v2) variant which is supported in ath10k ath10k Linux


Oh well, I guess I can wait. How about the 5GHz radio?

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:04 pm
by ispyisail
Oh well, I guess I can wait. How about the 5GHz radio?


works for other routers, can't say for he C7

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2015 6:09 pm
by papaskitch
ispyisail wrote:
Oh well, I guess I can wait. How about the 5GHz radio?


works for other routers, can't say for he C7


I've read on OpenWRT forum that the 5GHz radio on the Archer C7 V2 needs the kmod-ath10k package in order to work. I've tried installing it via:

Code: Select all

opkg update
opkg install kmod-ath10k


but I get an dependency error. Trying to force the install doesn't work either. Is there any way to get this rolled into the build?

Re: Gargoyle-ispy 2015-January-02.7z

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 1:49 pm
by l0rdraiden
papaskitch wrote:
ispyisail wrote:
Oh well, I guess I can wait. How about the 5GHz radio?


works for other routers, can't say for he C7


I've read on OpenWRT forum that the 5GHz radio on the Archer C7 V2 needs the kmod-ath10k package in order to work. I've tried installing it via:

Code: Select all

opkg update
opkg install kmod-ath10k


but I get an dependency error. Trying to force the install doesn't work either. Is there any way to get this rolled into the build?


Could you please summarize the compatibility status of the Archer C7?
Everything works fine and stable except the wifi AC?
I have read that wifi AC it won't be supported in gargoyle until openwrt CC gets to the stable version which could in years

Or when more or less gargoyle will start to support wifi AC?

Right now it looks like C7 works well with openwrt CC and installing Ath10k

https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php ... 22#p259022

Is possible to donate money to get this implemented in gargolye sooner?