Allow Channels 12,13,14 based on country (*MOD*)

Suggest improvements and new features for Gargoyle.

Moderator: Moderators

GoUser
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:05 pm

Allow Channels 12,13,14 based on country (*MOD*)

Postby GoUser » Thu Sep 27, 2012 4:23 pm

viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2779 works great.
I think it would be good to add an option on /basic.sh Wireless section to set a country and if allowed unlock selection of 12, 13, 14 channels.
TP-LINK TL-WR841ND v5 - Gargoyle 1.4.7
TP-LINK TL-WR841ND v7 - Original firmware
TP-LINK TL-WR941ND - Gargoyle 1.4.7
D-LINK DIR-825 b1 - Gargoyle 1.4.7

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby DoesItMatter » Fri Sep 28, 2012 11:51 am

I think the last version this works on is 1.5.6

With the Attitude Adjustment branch, this has changed.

I could not find a regulatory.bin file anymore, but I'll check again.

I believe you'd have to do custom compiles / editing to do this now.

---------------------

Build your own!

Very simple - once you get all the stuff installed

Do a "make menuconfig"

Goto Kernel Modules -> Wireless Drivers

Highlight kmod-ath and hit enter, Configuration and enter

Choose this setting:

[*] Force Atheros drivers to respect the user's regdomain settings

I don't see an option to enable this for Broadcom, but I only am
compiling for my Atheros devices

The above is for OpenWRT images.

For building your own Gargoyle images, follow the Documentation
section for Developers - clone the git, setup build environment,
then do -- make custom -- and you can follow the above to
goto Kernel Modules -> Wireless Drivers, etc.


Even easier - you can edit the config.in files under the target
directories and set this option: CONFIG_ATH_USER_REGD=y
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

bigsexeh
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:15 pm

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby bigsexeh » Mon Oct 01, 2012 12:36 pm

If anyone has such a modified firmware for WNDR3700v1 i'd appreciate it. I myself live in Europe where we can use those channels and they significantly boost quality of signal and speed of wifi (tried with official netgear fw); however the official firmware is severly lacking in other departments so i'd much rather stay loyal to Gargoyle.

So, if anyone has such 'unlocked' fw.. i would be most grateful if they could pass it on.

thanks,

big

p.s: i'm too thick to do it by myself :/

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby DoesItMatter » Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:01 pm

Check your private message!

Test and see if it works for you.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

bigsexeh
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:15 pm

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby bigsexeh » Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:49 pm

Thanks! I really appreciate your effort.

I'll give this a go.

efpophis
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:03 pm

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby efpophis » Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:06 pm

I'm in the process of building an image for my DIR-825 with this configuration change in place. Does this allow

iw reg set <country code, ie: JP>

to work as desired? Or is there something more I will have to do to open up these channels?

Thanks!

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby DoesItMatter » Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:18 pm

I think you can just do that command -

The iw reg set via command line

HOWEVER

Any changes you make via the GUI to the wireless interface
has a chance to erase any changes you made via command line.

So get all your stuff setup via the GUI first, save changes,
then edit via command line for final changes.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

Adri
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:03 am

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby Adri » Thu Jan 24, 2013 5:25 am

DoesItMatter wrote:I think you can just do that command -

The iw reg set via command line

HOWEVER

Any changes you make via the GUI to the wireless interface
has a chance to erase any changes you made via command line.

So get all your stuff setup via the GUI first, save changes,
then edit via command line for final changes.

Or you can put a 'country="JP"' in your /etc/config/wireless.
This will autmatically change the reg country on startup or reset of the wireless interface.
However the ath9k driver needs to allow this by seeting the right compile options.

Nilist
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:41 am

Re: Allow 12,13,14 channels basing on country

Postby Nilist » Mon Jan 28, 2013 11:17 am

https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?pid=190221#p190221

Confirmed working on 1.5.9 (gives you channel 12 &13)

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: Allow Channels 12,13,14 based on country (*MOD*)

Postby DoesItMatter » Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:57 pm

Edited the topic title and made this a sticky

Listed as a *MOD*

This is not a Fix or Hack - this was put out by one of the
OpenWRT developers to allow people in other countries to
add the channels they should have back to their routers.

Use responsibly!
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest