Guest ssid

Suggest improvements and new features for Gargoyle.

Moderator: Moderators

CyberJoeFR
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:40 am
Contact:

Re: Guest ssid

Postby CyberJoeFR » Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:50 am

hi all,

Thanks for this thread, now I know how to have 2 SSIDs with my WNDR3700V1. :P
Nevertheless, I have an other question :?:
In my application, I use 2 SSID and the quotas restriction.
Is it possible to manage one different quota for each SSID ? :idea:

Thanks for your answer(s)
CJ

pbix
Developer
Posts: 1365
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: Guest ssid

Postby pbix » Fri Nov 08, 2013 6:29 am

CyberJoeFR wrote:Is it possible to manage one different quota for each SSID ?

The Quota system has no knowledge of SSID. You will have to use the other capabilities of the Quota system to manage your traffic.
Netgear WNDR3700v2
TP Link 1043ND v3
TP-Link TL-WDR3600 v1
Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH2
WRT54G-TM

CyberJoeFR
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2013 4:40 am
Contact:

Re: Guest ssid

Postby CyberJoeFR » Fri Nov 08, 2013 6:59 am

pbix wrote:You will have to use the other capabilities of the Quota system to manage your traffic.


Thank for your answer pbix, but in fact I have no idea of "how to do"... :roll:
Is there a means to know in real time which host is connected to which SSID ?
Do you have an idea of the script to complete my requirement ?

SergeS
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 9:09 pm

Re: Guest ssid

Postby SergeS » Sun Jun 15, 2014 12:36 pm

CyberJoeFR wrote:
pbix wrote:You will have to use the other capabilities of the Quota system to manage your traffic.


Thank for your answer pbix, but in fact I have no idea of "how to do"... :roll:
Is there a means to know in real time which host is connected to which SSID ?
Do you have an idea of the script to complete my requirement ?


Are there any plans for implementing Guest SSID in web interface? This is really wishful feature, waited for so long time, for a lot of people.
I have tested all command-line solutions here (on netgear wndr3700v2) around year-two ago and found out it is not providing isolation, so from security point of view it can not be used as guest network... Any changes since that time?

out of rules
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:07 pm

Re: Guest ssid

Postby out of rules » Sun Jun 15, 2014 3:28 pm

pbix wrote:I
Anyway following my script would prevent you from having to do any other modifications to Gargoyle and everything will work.

But this way clients from 'guest wifi' have access to the router shares

n0pin
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 6:39 am

Re: Guest ssid

Postby n0pin » Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:59 am

I'm looking into implementing this feature and I have a question. Should I implement this feature in network settings section in Gargoyle router web interface or should I offer it as a plugin?
Last edited by n0pin on Mon Aug 11, 2014 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

tals
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 7:27 am

Re: Guest ssid

Postby tals » Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:32 am

From a personal point of view, not tried the plugins but I don't mind as long as it is straight forward :) I'd prefer the network settings area. Either way it would be awesome - I did have a try but unfortunately it was last minute I lost my network as a result so quickly put it back with a note to self to try it again when I had more time :)

Would love to see it implemented in the core options as I think it will enhance Gargoyles functionality and be useful for me :)
Netgear wndr3700 v2 Gargoyle 1.8.0
TP-Link Archer C7 v2 1.10.X (Built 20180122-0707)

jh001
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:44 pm

Re: Guest ssid

Postby jh001 » Sat Aug 23, 2014 11:06 pm

I've managed to get the guest network going on my WDR-4300, but was wondering how I can turn the guest network on/off as required?

And I would like to add my vote for this to be a become a feature accessible from the GUI.

Dr. Crash
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2012 6:04 pm

Re: Guest ssid

Postby Dr. Crash » Mon Nov 10, 2014 5:21 pm

jh001 wrote:And I would like to add my vote for this to be a become a feature accessible from the GUI.


I put together a UI for guest networking last night. I have a TP 3600 and so I can only test an Atheros router, and I believe that Broadcom routers using the b43 drives cannot set multiple SSIDs.

Anyway... After doing a first prototype by modifying the obfuscated basic.js (!) I "ported" those changes to the source so I can do a pull request once I am happy with it and have had some testers willing to build from my fork.

Info on where to find the fork etc. is in the Contribute development forum.
Last edited by Dr. Crash on Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

bobruub
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:41 am

Re: Guest ssid

Postby bobruub » Mon Jan 12, 2015 11:48 pm

Thanks guys, awesome post.

I have now created a guest network, isolated from my local network and connected via opendns.

A few questions.

1. I initially set it up without a password and would like to add one.

Tried the following:

uci set wireless.ap_g2.key=<an actual password>
uci commit

and rebooted but it still not asking.

2. How to disable the network?

3. How to assign specific IP range to the guest network? (I can then force quotas, etc)

4. anyway of getting just the get network to disable changing DNS on the client? For my own reasons I need some devices to bypass opendns, but not all...

Thanks again, awesome, awesome post.


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest