quota and mac addresses

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

jooocker
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:16 pm

quota and mac addresses

Post by jooocker »

" Block MAC addresses assigned a static IP that connect from a different IP",, not work

For example i assigned my mac to ip:
11:11:11:11:11:11 = 192.168.1.9.

and use my quota for 192.168.1.9
Then anyone can use my quota from another device mac 22:22:22:22:22:22 and set static ip 192.168.1.9.

(In DHCP we need "OPTION" to block all mac addresses which not assigned to any ip).


Please make solution.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by ispyisail »

What happens when you assign a static IP to 22:22:22:22:22:22 say 192.168.1.25 from gargoyle?

jooocker
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by jooocker »

If there is quota for ip 192.168.1.25 then the mac 22:22:22... can use the internet from this quota

If there is no quota for ip 192.168.1.25 then the mac 22:22:22... Connected, but cannot use the internet because i set quota rule (0 MB for all hostes except quota).

jooocker
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by jooocker »

Image

Clear example:

1- If Mac 11:11:11:11:11:11 connected from other ip 192.168.1.22 or any 192.168.1.x , then the mac will be blocked.
Ok thats good.

But..

2- If unknown Mac (not in list) 33:33:33:33:33:33 connected from 192.168.1.11 or 192.168.1.22 or any 192.168.1.x, then the mac not blocked and its can use any ip quota.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by ispyisail »

2- If unknown Mac (not in list) 33:33:33:33:33:33 connected from 192.168.1.11 or 192.168.1.22 or any 192.168.1.x, then the mac not blocked and its can use any ip quota.


yeah

maybe there should be a option to "block all clients not assigned from to gargoyle DHCP server" or "Block all unknown mac address not assigned and IP from the gargoyle DHCP server"?

jooocker
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by jooocker »

"block all clients not assigned from to gargoyle DHCP server" ,
I think that will be work Good.

This idea must be up to developers.

Last question .. How do I know if new upgrade with this option released ?


Thank you very much.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by ispyisail »

jooocker wrote:"block all clients not assigned from to gargoyle DHCP server" ,
I think that will be work Good.

This idea must be up to developers.

Last question .. How do I know if new upgrade with this option released ?


Thank you very much.


The good new is I have talked to Eric.

He has confirmed that it is working as expected but he agrees that there is a loop hole

Don't get too excited with a fix soon.

But your excellent report has greatly helped your cause

One thing that can be done is blocking all MAC addresses not assigned an IP manually in the Firewall/Restrictions section.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by ispyisail »

Image

jooocker
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by jooocker »

You mean block all hosts except the MACs assigned to ip in list 11:11:11:11:11:11 and 22:22:22:22:22:22.

Any other outsider MAC 33:33:33:33:33:33 will be blocked.??


but if outsider MAC 33:33:33:33:33:33 connect from ip 192.168.1.11 then the MAC not blocked ,, the gargoyle allow it to use internet because it use quota ip 192.168.1.11. :(

I try it befor, Try it your self.

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4875
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: quota and mac addresses

Post by ispyisail »

yeah ok

Image

I haven't tested

Post Reply