Problem with Quotas

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Ancymon0
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:48 am
Location: Poland

Problem with Quotas

Postby Ancymon0 » Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:52 am

Hello,

I've been using Gargoyle for quite long time, but now im struggling with Quotas - have to use to split my connection to two separate networks with equal speed. I have feeling that everything is ok, i mean both networks throttle at settled speed, but another problem occured
Whole network has speed of 150Mbits ( real 144-145 Mbits/s), and I split it to two 70Mbits
1st half of network - Gargoyle router with DHCP - range and quota set 192.168.111.20 - 192.168.111.200 - this is for wireless and lan devices for my flat - 70mbits combined for this ip range

2nd half of network - another router located in second flat connected by WAN to my Gargoyle in Gateway with static IP assigned at 192.168.111.201 and quota set for 70 Mbits/s for this specific IP

In theory when we both start downloading we should have 140 Mbits download combined. Per 70 on flat, but there came real problem.
single half actually is limited to 70 Mbits for both flats, but router never goes above that even if we both start downloading on these separated quotas

I mean when we start downloading with full speeds it never goes above 70Mbits total instead of 140, so we share 70Mbits instead of 140

Where is my mistake here? Tried with Gargoyle 1.8.1 and yesterday 1.10 having the same results

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4850
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Problem with Quotas

Postby Lantis » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:25 am

Can you share your full settings so we can double check please?
Also, what router do you have? Have you checked that a device connected directly to the router and not covered by the quota/speed limit can actually saturate the connection? There is a chance that your router is not fast enough to achieve > 70mbps
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

Ancymon0
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:48 am
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with Quotas

Postby Ancymon0 » Wed Feb 06, 2019 5:35 am

I will be able to post screenshots of settings in like 5 hours - not at home at the moment
-ill post it with graphic schema of network just to be sure that I provided clear description

Router is Netgear WNDR4300 - when all quotas are off it goes full speed over 130Mbits/s slowly rising to 140Mbits - 1.8.1 was getting to that 140 bit faster tho

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 4850
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Problem with Quotas

Postby Lantis » Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:10 am

Sounds great. Make sure you host them externally and link them here as our board quota is full.
As a new user you may not be able to post links, so just obfuscate them a little bit and let us know and I’m sure we can get there.

I think that router should get to full speed, but it would be good to test it with quotas enabled.
Setting a quota that limits you to full speed and then testing would be good. When quotas are enabled there is extra load on the router.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

top_s
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Problem with Quotas

Postby top_s » Wed Feb 06, 2019 2:36 pm

Guys,

Quotas in this case = QoS?

WNDR4300 v1 is Atheros AR9344 (560 MHz)
My router (WDR4300 v1) has the same CPU. With QoS enabled, it won`t go faster than 70MBs.

Mind double-checking if the main router has enough horsepower to reach 140MBs with QoS (or Quotas...) enabled?
WDR4300 v1 (stock)
WR941nd v2 (1.9.2)
WA901nd v2 (1.6.2)
2x WR741nd (1.6.2)

(Up to) 1gbps up/down link

Ancymon0
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:48 am
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with Quotas

Postby Ancymon0 » Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:12 pm

@Lantis
@top_s

Lantis, You were right
WNDR4300 is able to hold ~~300Mbits with NAT on stock firmware, gargoyle is much heavier tho, especially newer releases so CPU is bottlenecking - It looks like for Gargoyle on WNDR4300 ~150Mbits is top possible bandwidth with NAT without any Quotas, with Quotas it gets much worse

I followed your suggestion and checked what happens if I settle only one Quota exceeding total bandwidth - it resulted with 74Mbits, Quotas off - 140Mbits

Its now clear that in fact, it was just coicidence with Quotas spltting two 70Mbits networks and router not exceeding total of 70, just CPU cannot handle more ~~70Mbits


I was forced to try DD-WRT for now with firewall script allowing to achieve simmilar network split - will see if it achieves somewhat higher, but for now i connected 2nd flat directly to ISP router so i will have to clone MAC and configure old wr741 and make some laboratory test before I connect everything for real to check how it behaves

Script i'm trying now in dd below

TCA="tc class add dev br0"
TFA="tc filter add dev br0"
TQA="tc qdisc add dev br0"
SFQ="sfq perturb 10"
tc qdisc del dev br0 root
tc qdisc add dev br0 root handle 1: htb
tc class add dev br0 parent 1: classid 1:1 htb rate 138240kbit
$TCA parent 1:1 classid 1:10 htb rate 69120kbit ceil 115000kbit prio 2
$TCA parent 1:1 classid 1:11 htb rate 69120kbit ceil 115000kbit prio 2
$TQA parent 1:10 handle 10: $SFQ
$TQA parent 1:11 handle 11: $SFQ
$TFA parent 1:0 prio 2 protocol ip handle 10 fw flowid 1:10
$TFA parent 1:0 prio 2 protocol ip handle 11 fw flowid 1:11
iptables -t mangle -A POSTROUTING -d 192.168.111.10 -j MARK --set-mark 10
iptables -t mangle -A POSTROUTING -m iprange --dst-range 192.168.111.11-192.168.111.254 -j MARK --set-mark 11
TCAU="tc class add dev imq0"
TFAU="tc filter add dev imq0"
TQAU="tc qdisc add dev imq0"
modprobe imq
modprobe ipt_IMQ
ip link set imq0 up
tc qdisc del dev imq0 root
tc qdisc add dev imq0 root handle 1: htb
tc class add dev imq0 parent 1: classid 1:1 htb rate 46080kbit
$TCAU parent 1:1 classid 1:10 htb rate 23040kbit ceil 38000kbit prio 2
$TCAU parent 1:1 classid 1:11 htb rate 23040kbit ceil 38000kbit prio 2
$TQAU parent 1:10 handle 10: $SFQ
$TQAU parent 1:11 handle 11: $SFQ
$TFAU parent 1:0 prio 2 protocol ip handle 10 fw flowid 1:10
$TFAU parent 1:0 prio 2 protocol ip handle 11 fw flowid 1:11
iptables -t mangle -A PREROUTING -s 192.168.111.10 -j MARK --set-mark 10
iptables -t mangle -A PREROUTING -m iprange --src-range 192.168.111.11-192.168.111.254 -j MARK --set-mark 11
iptables -t mangle -A PREROUTING -j IMQ --todev 0

top_s
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:09 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: Problem with Quotas

Postby top_s » Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:34 am

Great.

You're right. WDR4300 uses hardware NAT. I've reached 960MBs (download) on stock firmware.
Openwrt does not use hardware NAT -- the heavy job is made by the CPU alone, so speeds are much lower.

I have the same issue. Can`t enable QOS because my router is not fast enough.

DDWRT's QOS is much worse. It also is not capable of hardware NAT if im not mistaken. It will be faster only because it does less stuff.

If buying a faster router is not an option, this could be the way to go. There is nothing like Gargoyle in QOS related stuff. I hope it solves your issue though.
WDR4300 v1 (stock)
WR941nd v2 (1.9.2)
WA901nd v2 (1.6.2)
2x WR741nd (1.6.2)

(Up to) 1gbps up/down link

Ancymon0
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:48 am
Location: Poland

Re: Problem with Quotas

Postby Ancymon0 » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:35 am

I've made some tweaks to script because ip range didnt work - had to paste every single ip in dhcp range.
Download worked fine and reached expected bandwidth of 138Mbits splitted on half, but I stuck with another common problem, upload limit doesnt work as intended, actually, upload limit doesnt work at all :evil:
I think i'll have to think about much stronger router to make it able to handle full 200 Mbits of combined download and upload, but im not happy about that

QoS in ddwrt was also murdering CPU but pushed ~~86Mbits instead of 74


Return to “Monitoring / Quota / QoS Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest