Changing QoS limits depending on hour

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
pkkrusty
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:41 pm

Changing QoS limits depending on hour

Post by pkkrusty »

Hi all,

I've searched the forums and found a helpful thread about editing the root crontab to increase QoS download and upload limits (in my case, after working hours, so users can enjoy full available bandwidth at night). I applied the code and restarted the router, but I notice that the http GUI still shows the normal, smaller limits in the QoS tabs. Is this normal or did I do something wrong?

The crontab code I used was written in 2015, so maybe syntax has changed since. My router is on 1.10

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5889
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Changing QoS limits depending on hour

Post by Lantis »

Can you share what cron changes you made please? Will be easier to see where you started from.

There's only 2 settings (in the same config file) you need to change, so that should be pretty straight forward. You also need to restart the qos service to get the full effect.
The GUI should reflect the changes immediately, so sounds like there's a bit of a hiccup there.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

pkkrusty
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 4:41 pm

Re: Changing QoS limits depending on hour

Post by pkkrusty »

Here are my two lines, based on this conversation from 2015: viewtopic.php?p=30982#p30982

I grabbed the root file using WinSCP, edited it in wordpad, and put it back in the crontab folder. I just put the two lines at the end of the file. (I also did a test where I set the time just a few minutes in the future, and didn't see any effect)

2 18 * * * uci set qos_gargoyle.download.total_bandwidth=30000 && uci commit qos_gargoyle && /etc/init.d/qos_gargoyle restart
2 07 * * * uci set qos_gargoyle.download.total_bandwidth=10000 && uci commit qos_gargoyle && /etc/init.d/qos_gargoyle restart

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5889
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: Changing QoS limits depending on hour

Post by Lantis »

Try your "few minutes in the future" experiment again, and make sure that you run

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/cron restart
so that the changes are picked up.

Make sure that the 2 bandwidth commands are at least 5 minutes apart when testing, as the qos restart script is not short.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

Post Reply