Bandwidth usage not matching ISP Records

Report issues relating to bandwith monitoring, bandwidth quotas or QoS in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

leoniestar
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:27 am

Bandwidth usage not matching ISP Records

Postby leoniestar » Sun Feb 11, 2018 2:33 am

Hi all,
I have just started trying to work out which devices use the most data in our house and have come up with a problem whereby the data usage recorded by my ISP does not match that recorded by my gargoyle router (see attachment). Does anyone know why this could be?
Also, I am currently copying data usage for each device from the gargoyle router bandwidth table to excel for comparison? Is there a better way?
Thanks a lot!
Leonie

ispyisail
Moderator
Posts: 4084
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 3:15 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: Bandwidth usage not matching ISP Records

Postby ispyisail » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:46 am

I have just started trying to work out which devices use the most data in our house and have come up with a problem whereby the data usage recorded by my ISP does not match that recorded by my gargoyle router (see attachment). Does anyone know why this could be?


This is known but it should be close.

Gargoyle only measures traffic LAN to WAN

Because Gargoyle is a firewall not all traffic gets through

leoniestar
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2017 2:27 am

Re: Bandwidth usage not matching ISP Records

Postby leoniestar » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:41 pm

Great, thanks for your help. I've also noticed that there are a whole list of IP Addresses, and some devices missing from the hostname list. Any idea how I can work out what the IP Addresses represent?


Return to “Monitoring / Quota / QoS Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests