I'm installed but can't connect to WiFi modem

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

Robster

I'm installed but can't connect to WiFi modem

Post by Robster »

Hi all,

I'm not good with networking so it's baby steps for me.

I have my main modem/router. It's a Netgear DGND3700V2.
I have my Gargoyle router. It's a TP-Link TL-WR1043ND.

I've successfully installed Gargoyle onto the TP-Link. I can login to 192.168.1.1.

Currently this is the configuration:
I'm plugged into TP-Link with a LAN cable.
TP-Link is plugged into the Netgear with a LAN cable.

So far so good.

What I want now is:
1- have the TP-Link talk to the Netgear via the WiFi signal of the Netgear (no LAN cable)
2- connect to the TP-Link via Wifi. (currently it says WiFi is turned off)

Does anyone have any step by step links to help me achieve 1 and 2 above?

I've set the Connection > Basic to Wireless Bridge/Repeater and tried to figure out the settings below but am at a loss.

Again, my networking skills are limited but I'm happy to have got this far, now I just need make the final steps to get this system live in my house.

Thanks so much.

Rob

nworbnhoj

Re: I'm installed but can't connect to WiFi modem

Post by nworbnhoj »

You may not want Wireless Bridge mode. Many of Gargoyles unique features will be inactive in such as setup. Gargoyle works best as the primary Internet Gateway device. What are you trying to achieve?
Can you help someone else get Gargoyle up and running?
TL-WDR3600 : Gargoyle 1.9.0 : NBN FixedWireless
TL-WR1043ND-V2 : Gargoyle 1.8.0 : 3G Huawei E160E

Robster

Post by Robster »

Hi and thanks for the reply.

As I say I'm not good with networking but really need the tools Gargoyle offers so am working through this.

I can't have the Wireless Router (with Gargoyle) physically attached to the modem due to logistical reasons.

Due to this I need the Wireless Router to retrieve the internet over WiFi from the modem.