Router not accessible

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

batagy
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Router not accessible

Postby batagy » Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:44 pm

SirDrexl wrote:I set cookies to delete when the browser shuts down, so I kind of doubt it has something to do with cookies.


Yes, I agree, it seems to be related to cookies. It seems that cookie is expiring wrong time, and it maybe related to this end year change. (?) Strange

This topic seems interesting, but no conclusion of it. He mentions some time conversions or timezones related to cookie behaviour, but I don't fully got it yet.

oba
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:18 am

Re: Router not accessible

Postby oba » Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:22 am

Ever since Avast(anti-virus) introduced its new web shield, I have been experiencing this issue. It doesn't happen on other web pages, local or not. So it must be something to do with the output of the gargoyle's web server.

batagy
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Router not accessible

Postby batagy » Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:03 am

Wow! You hit the nail, oba!

Indeed it's related to Avast Antivirus! I also it have installed. I'm using Avast for years but never had such problem with Gargoyle. For test I disabled Avast, and the Gargoyle webgui issue does not appear, indeed!

Actually there was an Avast program upgrade (to 2014.9.0.2011 program version) recently, and probably that started this problem, which I didn't recognise. In previous Avast version (2014.9.0.something) there was no such issue.

So I wonder whether the Avast latest or the Gargoyle is the wrong, but it's rather Avast problem, not Gargoyle.

In Avast I added a while URL to here, but it doesn't work (I'm using Hungarian interface of Avast so the English strings might be not exact):
Avast Settings > Active Protections > Web shield > Web Shield settings (small wheel at right side) > Exceptions > White URL:
http://192.168.0.1/*

But this doesn't solve the problem yet.
Thanks a lot for this Avast info!

batagy
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Router not accessible

Postby batagy » Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:23 am

Related Avast topic is Fix for WebShield download issues , but that fix is actually introducing the issue, not solve it.

Here is the latest AVAST 2014 Program update (9.0.2011) link.

I don't have any conclusion yet but it's surely Avast problem.

SirDrexl
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:16 pm

Re: Router not accessible

Postby SirDrexl » Fri Jan 03, 2014 3:44 am

Well, turning off the Web Shield indeed works. But then why did it work fine in IE? I had thought the Web Shield was browser-agnostic and simply monitored ports.

Hey BTW, I'm also getting a "The plain HTTP request was sent to HTTPS port" message when posting here (although the post goes through). I don't know if it's related or not.

peterg4000
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:31 am

Re: Router not accessible

Postby peterg4000 » Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:38 am

OK, this matches with me too - I am using Avast on my Win PC!

I will linger until someone comes up with a solution... Or Avast fix the problem...

Note that I don't think this is a 'New Year' triggered thing.

Look at start of thread - First report was 2/Oct/2013.

batagy
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:07 am

Re: Router not accessible

Postby batagy » Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:53 pm

I posted the fault on the Avast forum linked topic. One of the Avast developer already sent me email, asking traces. I made the traces, so troubleshoot ongoing. I'll post here if there is some progress.

Moleshome
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 5:21 pm

Re: Router not accessible

Postby Moleshome » Fri Jan 10, 2014 6:46 am

I've just run into the same issue. Disabled Avast Webshield and it's all working again.

SirDrexl
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:16 pm

Re: Router not accessible

Postby SirDrexl » Sat Jan 11, 2014 6:43 pm

Workaround - works for me anyway: use https instead of http. Maybe I should have been doing that all along.

foreverstorm
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:17 pm

Re: Router not accessible

Postby foreverstorm » Sat Jan 25, 2014 2:13 am

I also am experiencing this problem using AVAST and Chrome together. I can't find a way to stop it happening without using IE 11 or turning the web shield off altogether. There doesn't seem to be a way to add gargoyle to any kind of exception list.


Return to “Network / Wireless Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests