TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

pavel
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 01, 2013 9:17 pm

TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by pavel »

I have read several topics about WR1043ND wireless problems, but I didn't find symptoms similar to mine. My laptop drops wireless connection about every half an hour or even more often. Simple reconnecting (disabling/enabling WiFi) is enough to get the connection back, no need to restart the router like other people reported.
I guessed the signal is weak, but then I have installed another WR-1043ND right next to the laptop and connected them in Wireless Bridge/Repeater configuration, but the problem is still there. It drops connection from time to time and I have to reconnect (now just switch between the routers).
Netgear WNDR3300 that I used before (same house, same location) for three years didn't have this problem at all. I tried WR-1043ND with DD-WRT, OpenWRT and now with Gargoyle, but the symptoms are exactly the same.
Routers are:
- TP-Link WR1043ND v1.10 Gargoyle 1.5.9 (A) (I bought it from gargoyle-router.com)
- TP-Link WR1043ND v1.8 Gargoyle 1.5.9 (I flashed it myself just today)
Any ideas? Should I give up with TP-Link and install OpenWRT/Gargoyle on the Netgear? I really like the software and don't want to go back to factory firmware!

Slacker
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:00 pm

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by Slacker »

I would try one of the builds in the show/tell forum, 1.5.9 official was pretty nasty for ar71xx. The 089 build I posted there works quite nicely.

Beware of the v1.10, though, I remember people posting about WAN port issues and I don't know if it was resolved, since I have a 1.7.

Looks like we're due for another official release soon, too.

erez669
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by erez669 »

do you have any idea if there is another version of gargoyle that wifi is working stable without disconnects? it's really annoying issue, i installed 1.4.7

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by DoesItMatter »

Wait for 1.5.10 - that should improve wireless for many routers.

See the News
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

erez669
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by erez669 »

and after this version is release, can i upgrade directly from 1.4.7? without preserve settings, or i will need the factory firmware?

User avatar
DoesItMatter
Moderator
Posts: 1373
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by DoesItMatter »

Yes, you can upgrade from 1.4.7 -> 1.5.10

NO YOU CANNOT keep your settings - you have to restore to defaults
and reconfigure all your settings manually

DO NOT load an old config - it won't work.
:twisted: Soylent Green Is People! :twisted:
2x Asus RT-N16 = Asus 3.0.0.4.374.43 Merlin
2x Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH V1 A0D0 = Gargoyle 1.9.x / LEDE 17.01.x
2x Engenius - ESR900 Stock 1.4.0 / OpenWRT Trunk 49400

demoralized
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 2:16 am

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by demoralized »

God dammit. Ver. 1.5.10 is droping connection on my WR1043ND HW 1.10

Looks like DD-WRT ver. 21286 all over again. :x

WG47
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:27 am

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by WG47 »

Yeah, mine's doing this on 1.5.9. I was going to update to 1.5.10 but if it's doing it too, no point. :(

It seems to know when I'm in bed using my phone/tablet, as far away from the router as possible, and not in the mood for getting out of bed to reboot the router. ;)

fefrie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by fefrie »

I found a fix maybe for this.

What I did was change my tx and rx antennas to 1+3 and 1+2, and everything has been working so far. If anyone else can try this out and confirm, please PM me.

I have 1 day of uptime so far. I have had this router for 3 years and it's been bad for the last 3 months or so.

gmick
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:34 am

Re: TP-Link WR1043ND drops connection, need to reconnect

Post by gmick »

How did it go?

If you're still experiencing the problem have a look here:

http://www.gargoyle-router.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=4667

and try the disassoc_low_ack setting described in the post.

Cheers,

GMick

Post Reply