Page 1 of 1

wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 5:25 pm
by Eternal
Im pretty sure this has to do with the wireless drivers not supporting this function.
When I set it to use the repeater function, the ap never comes up and it never connects to the main ap.
In openwrt only one function works at a time. If the client is up then the ap doesn't broadcast and if the ap is up then you cant scan for other networks to join

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:39 pm
by Lantis
I'll double check the functionality, however i'm reasonably confident it will work.

The limitation you are referring to is not quite right.
If you are using a repeater or client+ap scenario, the AP will not broadcast unless the client has successfully connected.
There is no reverse scenario.

In the AP only scenario, if your AP is 5GHz and on DFS channels, then you may not actively scan in some circumstances.

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 2:59 am
by Eternal
In openwrt there is no specific repeater mode. I set it to client and then add a vap which I assume is the same as what gargoyle is doing without all the extra steps

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 6:13 am
by Lantis
Yes. Is there a question in there?

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Thu Jun 20, 2019 3:51 pm
by Eternal
The client connects in openwrt, with or without the vap, but the vap never broadcasts

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 2:57 am
by RomanHK
Yes, I also noticed. OpenWrt since 15.05 repeater works just fine as it should. The fact that it had somehow worked as a bridge was a fatal mistake in terms of OpenWrt, and it is not then a repeater specification but a bridge. The relayd should be used for bridging. For someone it is a burden, but this is correctly specified as a repeater see. here: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/net ... figuration

P.S. Fatal error meant: the client connected to the repeater, did not get IP from DHCP and here are the first problems ...

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 5:11 am
by Lantis
This thread is going in circles.

To answer the thread title: "wrt32x repeater not working".
It works fine.
Importantly, the Client connection (i.e. the upstream AP) must connect successfully, otherwise you're going to get no repeater (as discussed above).

Just let Gargoyle do the settings for you. If you have Openwrt questions about an Openwrt specific setup, please see their forums.

Image

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 1:56 pm
by ispyisail
When I set it to use the repeater function, the ap never comes up and it never connects to the main ap.


Can you show us a screen shot of your configuration

Image

Re: wrt32x repeater not working

Posted: Fri Jun 21, 2019 2:03 pm
by ispyisail
To be fair I don't like the bridge/repeater mode

It works as expected but if the wireless AP signal is poor (or non existent) I get nothing but problems.

In AP mode you can always connect and configure even if the internet goes down for example.

But it does work....