wireless extender

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

erez669
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:52 pm

wireless extender

Postby erez669 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:23 am

i have tp-link 1043nd v2.1 and it's working well as router, but i upgraded the network and my ISP has installed his router and his wireless signal is weak, i want to connect my router to the isp router as wireless extender and i don't know how to do it technically, i try to bridge lan to lan and choose wireless repeater but it isn't working.
thanks.

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: wireless extender

Postby Lantis » Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:08 am

You have several options, please choose one so that someone can provide you with more detailed suggestions.

1. Use Gargoyle in wired gateway mode and turn off the wifi on the ISP modem
2. Use Gargoyle in wireless repeater mode to extend the signal
3. Use Gargoyle as a wired dumb AP extender
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

erez669
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: wireless extender

Postby erez669 » Thu Feb 14, 2019 7:52 am

option 2 repeater extender signal.

erez669
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: wireless extender

Postby erez669 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 6:31 am

the only thing that i succeeded is creating seperate wifi network and not to extend the existing wifi, the repeater mode not working for me.
1043nd v2.1 firmware 1.9.0

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: wireless extender

Postby Lantis » Sat Feb 16, 2019 8:48 am

1.9.0 uses an older style of repeater which I can’t remember how to configure off the top of my head.
I recall it was important to make sure the chosen IP was in the same subnet as the upstream AP.

I would recommend updating to at least 1.10.0. At least then we can offer advise that is more current.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

erez669
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: wireless extender

Postby erez669 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 11:16 am

ok, but i'm afraid that v 1.10 will brick my unit.

erez669
Posts: 112
Joined: Sun May 12, 2013 4:52 pm

Re: wireless extender

Postby erez669 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:03 pm

i'm searching the internet a lot of time and i found this article:

https://openwrt.org/packages/pkgdata/lu ... 9puTUNqHvU

how to add this plugin to get repeater mode to work?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: wireless extender

Postby Lantis » Sun Feb 17, 2019 4:01 pm

That is what 1.10.x uses already...
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases

TurfnSurf
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:04 pm

Re: wireless extender

Postby TurfnSurf » Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:05 pm

I want to "extend" my existing network into an area where WIFI is very weak and I cannot run an ethernet cable there.
I have a pair of Western Digital MyNet n750 routers, which have two radios (2.4 and 5 GHz).

Because WIFI bandwidth useage will be high, I was wondering if I could configure radio0 on both devices as access points and use radio1 as the backhaul channel between the two devices.

Ideally, WIFI and LAN clients on both sides could all see each other and share DHCP.

I have installed Gargoyle 1.11, but can't seem to figure out if my scheme described above is possible. Do I need to load any additional package(s)?

Lantis
Moderator
Posts: 5168
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:33 am
Location: Australia

Re: wireless extender

Postby Lantis » Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:03 pm

Not using the GUI.
The GUI offers you two options
1. Bridge (with repeater): bridges the networks together but by the nature of a “repeater”, it broadcasts the same network (same band/channel) out
2. DHCP wireless: wireless client (separate subnet) but you can then recreate a network on either band.

You want a hybrid of these.
If you want to try it via the command line it should be pretty simple.
Routers: Various ar71xx/mvebu/x86-64
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases


Return to “Network / Wireless Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests