Losing GUI access when wireless bridge/repeater mode selected.

Report wireless and/or network connectivity problems in this forum.

Moderator: Moderators

jocogi

Losing GUI access when wireless bridge/repeater mode selected.

Post by jocogi »

Hi guys. I've been using Gargoyle for a few years now, mostly for its outstanding QoS. I've recently started trying to repurpose my WNDR3800 as a wireless bridge/repeater and I've run into problems.

Whenever I activate this mode, I lose access to the GUI on 192.168.1.1

I think it's very similar to what some guys are experiencing in a couple of other threads. I don't seem to be allowed to link to them though?

In order to regain access I've had to TFTP new firmware. Using the reset button does NOT seem to work unfortunately.

I'm quite new to all this sorry. Am I missing something?

Thanks also everyone for your fantastic work on Gargoyle!

Lantis

Re: Losing GUI access when wireless bridge/repeater mode selected.

Post by Lantis »

Depending on what version of the firmware you are running changes the answer to this question.

Start with sharing your configuration settings, and version number, and we will proceed from there.

The likely outcomes:
1. Incorrect config
2. Correct config, now device is on wrong subnet
3. Not using the relay IP to connect after establishing bridge.
http://lantisproject.com/downloads/gargoyle_ispyisail.php for the latest releases
Please be respectful when posting. I do this in my free time on a volunteer basis.

jocogi

Post by jocogi »

Thank you for the very quick reply Lantis.
I am using 1.8.1.

I am absolutely certain I have the wrong config. I have no idea what I'm doing.

Unfortunately, I've struggled to find a guide on how to configure it correctly.

Also, unfortunately, my usual fall back of just tinkering with different settings, loses me access.