WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

General discussion about Gargoyle, OpenWrt or anything else even remotely related to the project

Moderator: Moderators

WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Postby insidious1 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:54 am

Hi
im new here, just wanted to know a few things

im considering getting a WNDR3700 and throwing gargoyle on it i have a few questions;

1 - does gargoyle support both v1 and v2 of the WNDR3700?
2 - does gargoyle support NAT loopback?
3 - is there a step by step guide on installing gargoyle?
4 - does DMZ actually work? (ive had stock netgears that wouldn't forward all ports, just a select few)
5 - which is the best stable release for the WNDR3700?
6 - Should i update the stock netgear firmware before putting gargoyle?

thanks!
insidious1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:42 am

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Postby pbix » Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:15 am

1 - Yes

2 - Not out of the box but with some effort on your part yes. Gargoyle is based on OpenWRT (Backfire). I saw in trunk https://dev.openwrt.org/browser/trunk/package/firewall/files/reflection.hotplug?rev=22441 so it seems this feature is there in trunk and would need to be added manually by you on your router. But I will say that I have never seen a request for this feature. I suspect there is a simpler and better way to accomplish your goal. Post about that.

3 - We have our Wiki.

4 - Gargoyle does have DMZ and I have never heard complaints that it does not work.

5 - This is a matter of opinion. All releases have some issues. IMHO you should use v1.5.4

6 - No
pbix
Developer
 
Posts: 1156
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 5:09 pm

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Postby insidious1 » Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:10 am

pbix wrote:1 - Yes

2 - Not out of the box but with some effort on your part yes. Gargoyle is based on OpenWRT (Backfire). I saw in trunk https://dev.openwrt.org/browser/trunk/package/firewall/files/reflection.hotplug?rev=22441 so it seems this feature is there in trunk and would need to be added manually by you on your router. But I will say that I have never seen a request for this feature. I suspect there is a simpler and better way to accomplish your goal. Post about that.

3 - We have our Wiki.

4 - Gargoyle does have DMZ and I have never heard complaints that it does not work.

5 - This is a matter of opinion. All releases have some issues. IMHO you should use v1.5.4

6 - No


Thanks for your reply pbix! i will post about NAT loopback :)
insidious1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:42 am

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Postby kinu » Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:12 pm

Hi all,

I have same router. By now I'm using DD-WRT, but I like to try Gargoyle because some bugs in last DD-WRT release.

I'm tunneling all my remote connections using the SSHd option under "services" menu, setting on "SSH TCP Forwarding", disabling "Password login", and putting my putty-generated key in "Authorized keys".

Is this easy to do with Gargoyle?

Thank you in advance.

kInU
kinu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:04 pm

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Postby jorgemiguel4 » Tue May 01, 2012 6:26 am

Yes, it's really easy to setup with gargoyle.. I use it the same way too.

It's exactly the same thing but with Dropbear instead of SSHd
jorgemiguel4
 
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:17 pm

Re: WNDR3700 + Gargoyle

Postby kinu » Tue May 01, 2012 5:17 pm

Thank you.

Is there a GUI for it, like the one in DD-WRT? If not, are you so kind to point me to the doc/tutorial to get it working?

EDIT: I've found this in the open-wrt wiki. Is it the right procedure?
kinu
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 1:04 pm


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest